Dollars from the Dirt

Last Sunday, the Concord Monitor ran an interesting Associated Press article,
Dollars from the Dirt: Economy Spurs Gardens. In it were some fascinating facts that I thought I would share…

• At their peak, the Victory Gardens during WWII provided 40% of the nation’s fresh produce. (Amazing!)
• The National Gardening Association estimates that a well-maintained vegetable garden yields a $500 average return per year.
• A study by Burpee Seeds claims that $50 spent on gardening supplies can multiply into $1,250 worth of produce annually. (No $64 tomatoes here!)

In the article, they also mentioned how some seed companies are enticing new gardeners…

Burpee is marketing a package of seeds called, “The Money Garden”. It’s a packet of seeds and instructions that includes tomatoes, snap beans, sugar snap peas, bell peppers and lettuce. Not a bad start for a basic garden but I would have thrown in some cucumber seeds and a summer squash to round it out! It’s a little stingy!

That being said…the Park Seed Company is doing a similar thing. Their seed collection is entitled, “The Garden for Victory Seed Collection“. Their package includes lettuce, peppers, snap beans, summer squash, tomatoes and baby cukes. I’m more partial to this particular collection.

I just think it’s pretty cool that they have put together an easy collection of seeds for beginning gardeners to grow. It’s often so overwhelming to look through the seed catalogs when you are first starting to garden. Reports are that seed sales are up 19% and it seems to be all the rage to start a “Recession Garden”.

Pretty soon we will be able to get those cold weather veggies in the ground. I poked at my garden bed today with a really big stick (that’s my “scientific” method of testing to see if the garden is ready) and I can poke down about a foot in a couple of places in my raised beds. Almost ready!

Laura Morrison

One response to “Dollars from the Dirt

  1. Beth McGuinn

    Thanks for the inspiration Laura!

    I contemplated planting spinach and carrots this weekend. My bed is ready to work, but my compost is still frozen!

    Next weekend for sure.

    Today, I removed the mulch from half the garlic bed and found 1-2″ greenish sprouts – spring has sprung!

    Beth